TopicAll time 10 County Champions in England | County Championship

  • Thu 16th May 2019 - 3:14pm

    County Champions in England: The County Championship or more popularly known as the Specsavers County Championship is the domestic cricket competition in England and Wales. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) is the organizer of the championship. Eighteen different clubs named after eighteen different counties (seventeen from England and one from Wales) are the participants. Though the tournament began in 1890, its name was changed in 2016 as it is sponsored by Specsavers.

    County Champions in England | Brief History

    The origin of this championship dated back to the year 1709. Though still 1889, the concept of an unofficial county championship existed. The term ‘’County Championship” is a generic term, used to denote a team that has won the official title of the tournament. But the devastating seven years’ Napoleonic war between 1797 to 1824 made to cease the tournament and thus inter-county matches took place during that time.

    The official county champions in england was finally constituted in a meeting at Lord’s on 10 December in the year 1889. The meeting was organized in order to gather club secretaries, who were supposed to determine the 1890 fixtures. Along with this, representatives of the eight leading county clubs had a private meeting. The agenda of the private meeting was to discuss the procedure of how the county championship would be organized in the future.

    Visit For More Information:- County Champions in England

    Sportz Craazy

Please register or login to post forum replies